This blog was written by Brandon White, Director of Human Resources at Helpside. Brandon has more than a decade of experience, allowing him to make complicated employment situations and regulations approachable for small businesses.
Have you entertained the idea of employing minors at your company? This can be mutually beneficial for the employee and the company. But before you go and display your job advertisement at the local high school it is important to consider relevant child labor laws.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) sets wage, hours worked, and safety requirements for minors (individuals under age 18) working in jobs covered by the statute. The federal minimum wage of $7.25 applies to minors. The law allows employers to pay employees under 20 years of age a lower wage, above $4.25, for the first 90 calendar days of employment. Employers must pay the state minimum wage rate if it exceeds the federal rate.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) sets 14 as the minimum age for most non-agricultural work. However, at any age, youth may deliver newspapers; perform in radio, television, movie, or theatrical productions; work in businesses owned by their parents (except in mining, manufacturing or hazardous jobs); and perform babysitting or perform minor chores around a private home.
Most states including Utah, Idaho, and Wyoming have limits around how many hours minors can work while school is in session and restrictions around minors working at night.
The Department of Labor has provided helpful information such as: Youth Rules!, elaws Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) Advisor, and other helpful resources to help you navigate this area of employment law.
If you would like more information on employing minors, please reach out to your Helpside Human Resources team at email@example.com