Many states make frequent minimum wage adjustments to account for the impact of inflation on wages. This year is no exception, with 25 states increasing their minimum wage. Here is a comprehensive list of the changes:
New Minimum Wage
New Tipping Wage
|Arizona||$12.80||$9.80||January 1, 2022||Here is the official announcement.|
|California||$15.00||$15.00||January 1, 2022||Employers with 25 employees or less have a minimum wage of $14.00 an hour. You can find California’s official guidance here.|
|Colorado||$12.56||$9.54||January 1, 2022||You can find the official guide here.|
|Connecticut||$14.00||$6.38||July 1, 2022||Connecticut is increasing their minimum wage based on a yearly schedule. You can see the schedule here.|
|Delaware||$10.50||No Change ($2.23)||January 1, 2022||Delaware is current planning to increase minimum wage on a yearly basis. You can learn more here.|
|Florida||$11.00||$6.98||September 30, 2022||Florida is increasing their minimum wage based on a yearly schedule. You can see the schedule here.|
|Illinois||$12.00||$7.20||January 1, 2022||The state minimum wage only applies to employers with 4 or more employees. Tip credit can’t be more than 40 percent of the minimum wage. $9.15 an hour is the minimum for workers under the age of 18 who work less than 650 hours each year.|
|Maine||$12.75||$6.38||January 1, 2022||You can view the official announcement here.|
|Maryland||$12.50||No Change ($3.63)||January 1, 2022||The state minimum wage applies to employers with 15 or more employees. Employers with 14 or fewer employees are required to pay a minimum wage of $12.20. Different wage rates may apply for Montgomery and Prince George counties.|
|Massachusetts||$14.25||$6.15||January 1, 2022||For more information on Massachusetts minimum wage laws, you can go to their website.|
|Michigan||$9.87||$3.75||January 1, 2022||Minors aged 16 and 17 are paid a rate of $8.39 as normal wages and $4.25 as a training wage (the first 90 days of employment). Learn more here.|
|Minnesota||$10.33||$10.33||January 1, 2022||Tipping credit isn’t allowed. A smaller minimum wage rate of $8.42 an hour applies to:
Learn more here.
|Missouri||$11.15||$5.58||January 1, 2022||Missouri is currently updating their minimum wage on a schedule. You can view the schedule here.|
|Montana||$9.20||$9.20||January 1, 2022||Tip credits, training wage, and meal credits aren’t allowed. A lower rate of $4.00 an hour applies to businesses with gross annual sales of $110,000 or less that aren’t covered by the federal minimum wage law.|
|Nevada||$10.50||$10.50||July 1, 2022||No tipping credit is allowed. A lower rate of $9.50 applies to employees with health benefits.|
|New Jersey||$13.00||$5.13||January 1, 2022||There are a few different rates for different situations.
|New Mexico||$11.50||$2.80||January 1, 2022||While some counties may be allowed to set their own minimum wage rate, most of the state should follow the increased minimum wage rate.|
|New York||$13.20||$8.80||December 31, 2021||Employees in New York City, Long Island, and Westchester and employees who work in fast food have an increased rate of $15.00. Other rates may apply for different industries. Check here for more information.|
|Ohio||$9.30||$4.65||January 1, 2022||If employers have a gross annual income less than $342,000 follow the federal minimum wage rate, not the state rate.|
|Oregon||$13.50||$13.50||July 1, 2022||Tip credit isn’t allowed. Oregon is updating minimum wage on a schedule. A $14.75 rate applies to the Portland metropolitan area. A $12.50 rate applies to non-urban counties.|
|Rhode Island||$12.25||$3.89||January 1, 2022||Rhode Island has planned future increases to their state minimum wage.|
|South Dakota||$9.95||$4.975||January 1, 2022||More information can be found here.|
|Vermont||$12.55||$6.28||January 1, 2022||The official announcement can be found here.|
|Virginia||$11.00||$11.00||January 1, 2022||Tipping credit is allowed. Virginia is updating their minimum wage rate based on a schedule.|
|Washington||$14.59||$14.59||January 1, 2022||Tipping credit is not allowed. Workers who are 14 or 15 years old must be paid 85 percent of the state minimum wage rate, or $12.32 per hour.|
If you want to know more about accurately paying employees, contact Helpside at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Disclaimer: This guide is meant as a starting point for compliance by Helpside’s clients. As such, Helpside has not created it to apply to a client’s particular circumstances. Thus, the content should not be regarded as legal advice and not be relied upon as such. In relation to any particular problem, clients are advised to seek specific advice. Finally, please note that relevant laws may change after publication.